18 19 HORIZONTAL 2-01.png

In celebration of the bicentennial of Walt Whitman’s birth and his lasting contribution to American letters and song, Lyric Fest has commissioned new settings of the poet’s work by composers: Derek Bermel, Curt Cacioppo, Robert Convery, Melissa Dunphy, Raymond Lustig, Gilda Lyons, Isabella Ness, Nkeiru Okoye, James Primosch, Glen Roven, David Shapiro, and the winner of Lyric Fest’s young composer competition, Samuel McLaughlin. On Tuesday, April 9th, 2019 Lyric Fest brings these newly-commissioned songs to The Phoenix Concerts for performance by singers Amy Van Roekel, Kristina Bachrach, Hannah Ludwig, Raehann Bryce, William Burden, James Reese, Keith Phares, Sidney Outlaw; with pianist Laura Ward.



In partnership with Lyric Fest

The Phoenix Concerts

Saint Matthew & Saint Timothy / 26 W 84th / New York, NY

Tuesday, April 9, 2019 at 7pm